Public Document Pack



Committee: Appeals Panel

Date: Thursday 22 July 2010

Time: 6.30 pm

Venue Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, Oxon, OX15 4AA

Membership

Councillor Fred Blackwell (Chairman) Councillor Douglas Webb (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Luke Annaly
Councillor Mrs Diana Edwards
Councillor Tony llott
Councillor P A O'Sullivan

Councillor Councillor Colin Clarke
Councillor Simon Holland
Councillor James Macnamara
Councillor Leslie F Sibley

AGENDA

1. Apologies for Absence

2. Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare any interest and the nature of that interest that they may have in any items under consideration at this meeting.

3. **Minutes** (Pages 1 - 2)

To confirm as a correct record the Minutes of the meeting held on 19 May 2010.

4. Exclusion of Press and Public

The following item contains exempt information as defined in the following paragraph(s) of Part 1, Schedule 12A of Local Government Act 1972.

- 1– Information relating to an individual.
- 2 Information which is likely to reveal the identity of an individual.

Members are reminded that whilst the following item has been marked as exempt, it is for the meeting to decide whether or not to consider each of them in private or in public. In making the decision, members should balance the interests of individuals or the Council itself in having access to the information. In considering their discretion members should also be mindful of the advice of Council Officers.

Should Members decide not to make a decision in public, they are recommended to pass the following recommendation:

"That, in accordance with Section 100A(4) of Local Government Act 1972, the press and public be excluded form the meeting for the following item of business, on the grounds that they could involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraphs 1 and 2 of Schedule 12A of that Act."

5. **Appeal Hearing** (Pages 3 - 68)

Information about this Agenda

Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence should be notified to democracy@cherwell-dc.gov.uk or (01295) 221587 prior to the start of the meeting.

Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare interests at item 2 on the agenda or if arriving after the start of the meeting, at the start of the relevant agenda item. The definition of personal and prejudicial interests is set out in Part 5 Section A of the constitution. The Democratic Support Officer will have a copy available for inspection at all meetings.

Personal Interest: Members must declare the interest but may stay in the room, debate and vote on the issue.

Prejudicial Interest: Member must withdraw from the meeting room and should inform the Chairman accordingly.

With the exception of the some very specific circumstances, a Member with a personal interest also has a prejudicial interest if it is one which a Member of the public with knowledge of the relevant facts would reasonably regard as so significant that it is likely to prejudice the Member's judgement of the public interest.

Local Government and Finance Act 1992 – Budget Setting, Contracts & Supplementary Estimates

Members are reminded that any member who is two months in arrears with Council Tax must declare the fact and may speak but not vote on any decision which involves budget setting, extending or agreeing contracts or incurring expenditure not provided for in the agreed budget for a given year and could affect calculations on the level of Council Tax.

Queries Regarding this Agenda

Please contact James Doble, Legal and Democratic Services (01295) 221587 james.doble@cherwell-dc.gov.uk

Mary Harpley Chief Executive

Published on Wednesday 14 July 2010

Cherwell District Council

Appeals Panel

Minutes of a meeting of the Appeals Panel held at Bodicote House, Bodicote, Banbury, Oxon, OX15 4AA, on 19 May 2010 at 7.30 pm

Present: Councillor Fred Blackwell (Chairman)

Councillor Douglas Webb (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Luke Annaly Councillor Colin Clarke

Councillor Mrs Diana Edwards Councillor Simon Holland Councillor Tony Ilott

Councillor James Macnamara Councillor P A O'Sullivan

Councillor Leslie F Sibley

Appointment of Chairman

1

Resolved that Councillor Fred Blackwell be appointed Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the 2010/11 Council year.

2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman

Resolved that Councillor Douglas Webb be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Appeals Panel for the 2010/11 Council year.

The meeting ended at 7.40 pm

Agenda Item 5

By virtue of paragraph(s) 1, 2 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.